“Rattlestick Playwrights Theater is my home. It is impossible to grow, to change, to work, to write without a home. I wouldn’t be the playwright I am without it.” -Lucy Thurber

The mission of Rattlestick Playwrights Theater is to provide a positive, nurturing experience for emerging playwrights, to present diverse and challenging plays that otherwise might not be produced, and to foster the future voices of American theater. Rattlestick  is a multi-award-winning  organization which has produced over ninety world premieres in the past 21 seasons and was the recipient of the 2007 Obie Award. We have produced the first plays and early works of some of today’s leading voices, including Lucy Thurber (The Hilltown Plays), Sheila Callaghan (Everything You Touch), Adam Rapp (The Hallway Trilogy), Craig Wright (The Pavilion), Jesse Eisenberg (The Revisionist), Samuel D. Hunter (The Few), and Annie Baker (The Aliens). We have also produced works by some of our nation’s most important playwrights, including José Rivera (Massacre Sing to Your Children), Craig Lucas (Ode to Joy), Charles Fuller (One Night) and Dael Orlandersmith (Horsedreams).