rattlestick door

RATTLESTICK PLAYWRIGHTS THEATER is a multi-award-winning 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization which has produced over eighty world premieres in the past twenty seasons and was the recipient of the 2007 Ross Wetzsteon Memorial Obie Award, which recognized us for work and our mission: developing and producing innovative new plays.

Rattlestick’s core operations are composed of its mainstage Off-Broadway productions. In addition to our Mainstage season our Emerging Playwrights Program, run through our literary department, organizes 40-50 public and private readings, followed by talkback sessions for the playwright with our artistic director and literary managers. This enables writers to develop their plays further and provides networking opportunities with directors and actors. We also offer week-long workshops for writers and have recently added a ten-day retreat at the Westin Theatre in Vermont during July where writers can go to workshop their plays.

We have produced over eighty world premieres in the past 20 years. Now in our 21st Season, Rattlestick has introduced new writers and received critical acclaim for its innovative work. Rattlestick’s Advisory Board participates in The Emerging Playwrights Project, which matches a new playwright with an established artist for an experienced eye and creative support. Playwright and artist mentors have included Edward Albee, Jon Robin Baitz, Zoe Caldwell, Arthur Kopit, Craig Lucas, Joe Mantello, Terrence McNally, Marsha Norman and Adam Rapp. Previous plays include: Two Boys in a Bed, Message to Michael, Carpool, Volunteer Man (Obie award), A Trip to the Beach, Ascendancy, Stuck, Vick’s Boy, The Messenger, Saved or Destroyed (Obie award), Neil’s Garden, My Special Friend, Faster, BlissThe Last Sunday in June (GLAAD Award-nomination), St. Crispin’s Day, Where We’re Born, Five Flights, Boise, Finer Noble Gases, That Pretty Pretty or The Rape Play, The Pavilion (Drama Desk Award nomination for Outstanding Play of 2005), God Hates The Irish: The Ballad of Armless Johnny (Drama Desk Award nomination), Miss Julie, Acts of Mercy: passion-play, Cagelove, It Goes Without Saying, Dark Matters, Stay, American Sligo, Rag and Bone, The Aliens (Obie Award), War, Steve & Idi, Lady (Drama Desk Award nomination), Geometry of Fire, The Amish Project, Slipping, Killers and Other Family, Post No Bills, Blind, Little Doc, underneathmybed, There Are No More Big Secrets, The Hallway Trilogy, Carson McCullers Talks About LoveThe Wood, Asuncion, Horsedreams, Yosemite, Massacre (Sing to Your Children), 3C, Through the Yellow Hour, A Summer Day, The Revisionist, Buyer & Cellar, Basilica, and Charles Ives Take Me Home. 

To see a detailed archive of our past shows, please visit our Past Show Archive.