History | Rattlestick Playwrights

Founded in 1994 by Gary Bonasorte and David Van Asselt, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater is an Obie-Award winning theater that has developed and produced over 100 World Premieres in the past 23 seasons. Our mission is to produce ambitious plays to inspire empathy and provoke conversation that will lead to positive social change.

We have produced the first plays and unique works of some of today’s leading voices, including Annie Baker (The Aliens), Sheila Callaghan (That Pretty, Pretty), Jesse Eisenberg (The Revisionist), Samuel D. Hunter (The Few), Craig Lucas (Ode to Joy), Martyna Majok (Ironbound), Diana Oh's (mylingerieplay), Dael Orlandersmith (Until the Flood), Adam Rapp (The Hallway Trilogy), Daniel Talbott (Slipping), Lucy Thurber (The Hilltown Plays), Jonathan Tolins (Buyer and Cellar) and Craig Wright (The Pavilion). We produce theater to inspire empathy and provoke conversations in response to the complexities of our culture.