top of page
logo yellow.png

The Van Lier New Voices Fellowship

2023-24 Van Lier Fellows

With the support of The New York Community Trust and the Jerome Foundation, the Van Lier New Voices Fellowship was rehomed from The Lark to Rattlestick in 2022 after its closure. This fellowship provides substantial support to two playwrights of color under 30 each year. Fellows receive a $35,000 living stipend, a $5,000 artistic fund to support career development, mentorship with a veteran playwright, workshops and readings of their work, and participation in Rattlestick’s artistic communities and programming.

We're excited to announce our 2023-2024 Van Lier Fellows: AriDy Nox and a.k. payne. 


AriDy Nox


a.k. payne

“The Van Lier New Voices Fellowship provides pivotal support to early career playwrights by encouraging experimentation and providing a foundational artistic home as the fellows navigate the early stages of their careers.  The incoming Fellows are powerful inventive writers with real vision for what the future of the form could be. I’m honored to support a.k. and AriDy and grateful that in my first year as Rattlestick’s artistic director, I have the opportunity to amplify their work.”

- Will Davis, Artistic Director 

About the Van Lier New Voices Fellowship

Since 2011, the Fellowship has supported sixteen playwrights including Susan Soon He Stanton, Reginald Douglas, Christopher Oscar Peña, Anna  Moench, Donja R. Love, C.A. Johnson, Christina Quintana, Brittany Allen, David Zheng, Erika Dickerson-Despenza, Xavier Galva, Ife Olujobi, Edison Ventura Mata Diaz, Zora Howard, May Treuhaft-Ali, and Minghao Tu. 


These extraordinary playwrights have produced dozens of works in New York and regionally, seen by thousands of audiences, and have careers in film and television.  They have garnered Peabody, WGA, and Princess Grace Awards, as well as Pulitzer Prize for Drama Finalist and Susan Smith Blackburn Special Commendation.

bottom of page